Ime Udoka of the Boston Celtics, who was widely regarded as the team’s favorite player, has been banned for the whole 2022–23 season. As a consequence, the NBA Coach of the Year chances are suspended.

This was not how things were meant to go down.

Ime Udoka has been banned by the Boston Celtics for the whole season after leading the club to the NBA Finals in his first year as head coach and beginning 2022-23 as the clear favorite in the Coach of the Year odds.

As a consequence, the chances for COY have shifted somewhat, with Taylor Jenkins of the Grizzlies and Chris Finch of the Timberwolves leading the pack.

Odds to win NBA Coach of the Year

*Coach**Odds to win COY*
Taylor Jenkins (Memphis)+1,000
Chris Finch (Minnesota)+1,000
Joe Mazzulla (Boston)+1,200
Erik Spoelstra (Miami)+1,300
Tyronn Lue (L.A. Clippers)+1,300
Steve Nash (Brooklyn)+1,400
Monty Williams (Phoenix)+1,400
Jason Kidd (Dallas)+1,400
Michael Malone (Denver)+1,400
JB Bickerstaff (Cleveland)+1,400
Steve Kerr (Golden State)+1,500
Willie Green (New Orleans)+1,500
Darvin Ham (L.A. Lakers)+1,700
Nick Nurse (Toronto)+1,800
Mike Budenholzer (Milwaukee)+1,800
Steve Clifford (Charlotte)+2,200

OKbet Sportsbook odds as of September 27, 2022.

Favorites for victory Coach of the Year in the NBA

Taylor Jenkins | +1,000

Jenkins, a nominee for Coach of the Year last season, has presided over a dramatic ascent in Memphis, where the Grizzlies have accelerated a rebuild and recently given the eventual champions their toughest fight of the playoffs with Ja Morant out for most of the series.

Memphis may struggle to keep their footing in the West this season, with the Clippers and Nuggets supposedly more healthier but that was the case last year, when the Grizzlies took the NBA by storm.

This squad is loaded with skill, depth, and possibility, and it’s guided by a coach who has a knack for putting together the correct lineups and extracting every ounce of potential from his young players.

Chris Finch | +1,000

The Timberwolves were a team on the rise last season, convincing new GM Tim Connelly to go all-in with a home-run deal for Rudy Gobert to strengthen Minnesota’s interior.

With the DPOY odds leader holding down the fort, many are expecting the Wolves to have a successful regular season. Minny, already one of the league’s greatest offenses, can now flex on both sides of the floor, as long as the absences of Patrick Beverley and Jarrett Vanderbilt don’t create too many gaps for Gobert to fill.

However, Finch is a sharp thinker and underappreciated strategist in a prime position for COY contention.

Joe Mazzulla | +1,200

With just the pressure of making the NBA Finals to live up to, Mazzulla replaces the past Coach of the Year odds leader and gets to make his head coaching debut on a month’s notice.

But there’s no pressure or anything, you know.

While replacing the fired Ime Udoka, Mazzulla has been a team assistant for three years, is acquainted with the organizational culture, and would not have been elevated had Brad Stevens not had the highest confidence in him.

Remember that Udoka was a rookie head coach last year, and Mazzulla will almost probably use the contentious preseason events as the main theme of his story, regardless of how well the Celtics do this year.

Knowing the chances for the NBA Coach of the Year

The majority of bookmakers will provide odds using the above-listed American style. We’ll use the 2019–20 Rookie of the Year competition as an illustration:

Ja Morant had been a heavy favorite throughout the season, and his odds featured a negative (-) symbol in front of the number:

-500 Ja Morant
This implies that a bettor must stake $500 in order to win $100. The number in front of other candidates with poorer probabilities would have a plus (+) symbol. Early in the season, before a clear favorite has been identified, the following betting possibilities will be available:

+650 Zion Williamson
For every $100 placed, a bettor may expect to win $650 in this situation.

If you prefer fractional or decimal odds over American odds, then use our odds converter to convert the odds. The majority of online sportsbooks also provide you the choice to modify the format of the odds that you view.

History of NBA Coach of the Year

YearNBA Coach of the Year Winner
2021-22Monty Williams (Phoenix)
2020-21Tom Thibodeau (New York)
2019-20Nick Nurse (Toronto)
2018-19Mike Budenholzer (Milwaukee)
2017-18Dwane Casey (Toronto)
2016-17Mike D’Antoni (Houston)
2015-16Steve Kerr (Golden State)
2014-15Mike Budenholzer (Atlanta)
2013-14Gregg Popovich (San Antonio)
2012-13George Karl (Denver)
2011-12Gregg Popovich (San Antonio)
2010-11Tom Thibodeau (Chicago)
2009-10Scott Brooks (Oklahoma City)
2008-09Mike Brown (Cleveland)
2007-08Byron Scott (New Orleans)
2006-07Sam Mitchell (Toronto)
2005-06Avery Johnson (Dallas)
2004-05Mike D’Antoni (Phoenix)
2003-04Hubie Brown (Memphis)
2002-03Gregg Popovich (San Antonio)

To learn more about your favorite Players/Team and be updated on betting news just go to OKBET Sportsbook or directly go to

okbet register coach
market okbet promo
market okbet promo
market okbet promo